Staff Picks

Shopping cart

Books: 
The Art Thief: A True Story of Love, Crime, and a Dangerous Obsession By Michael Finkel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525657323
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Knopf - June 27th, 2023

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • One of the most remarkable true-crime narratives of the twenty-first century: the story of the world’s most prolific art thief, Stéphane Breitwieser. • “The Art Thief, like its title character, has confidence, élan, and a great sense of timing."—The New Yorker


Tom Lake: A Reese's Book Club Pick By Ann Patchett Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063327528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Harper - August 1st, 2023

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK

In this beautiful and moving novel about family, love, and growing up, Ann Patchett once again proves herself one of America’s finest writers.


The Book of Phobias and Manias: A History of Obsession By Kate Summerscale Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780593489758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Penguin Books - September 27th, 2022

From the winner of the Edgar Award and the Samuel Johnson Prize, a cultural history of “everyday madness”

The Book of Phobias and Manias is a thrilling compendium of 99 obsessions that have shaped us all, the rare and the familiar, from ablutophobia (a horror of washing) to syllogomania (a compulsion to hoard) to zoophobia (a fear of animals).
 


Mongrels: A Novel By Stephen Graham Jones Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062412706
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 24th, 2017

Nominated for both the Shirley Jackson and Bram Stoker Awards, and a Best of 2016 selection of Tor.com and Book Riot, acclaimed horror writer Stephen Graham Jones' (The Only Good Indians and My Heart is a Chainsaw) Mongrels goes beyond your typical werewolf story to show a young boy, mired in poverty and always on the run, coming-of-age in a world that fears h


The Last White Man: A Novel By Mohsin Hamid Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593538821
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Riverhead Books - June 13th, 2023

A NEW YORKER ESSENTIAL READ

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORKER, VOGUE, AND NPR


“Perhaps Hamid’s most remarkable work yet … an extraordinary vision of human possibility.” –Ayad Akhtar, author of Homeland Elegies


Demon Copperhead: A Pulitzer Prize Winner By Barbara Kingsolver Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780063251922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Harper - October 18th, 2022

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION


Staff Pick Badge
Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants By Robin Wall Kimmerer Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781571313560
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Milkweed Editions - August 11th, 2015

A New York Times bestseller
A Washington Post bestseller
A Los Angeles Times bestseller
Named a "Best Essay Collection of the Decade" by Literary Hub
A Book Riot "Favorite Summer Read of 2020"


Accidental Birds of the Carolinas By Marjorie Hudson Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781935708308
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
This title is a nonreturnable book, so please make sure it is the right one!
Published: Press 53 - May 1st, 2011

Like birds blown off course, the characters in these stories need a place to roost-somewhere to settle long enough to repair their ragged hearts-and they find it near the banks of the mythical Sissipahaw River. In the centerpiece story, an eighteenth-century Eno Indian tells of the fiery fate of his adopted father, English explorer John Lawson.


Staff Pick Badge
Profiles in Ignorance: How America's Politicians Got Dumb and Dumber By Andy Borowitz Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781668003893
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - September 5th, 2023

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER *WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER *

Andy Borowitz, “one of the funniest people in America” (CBS Sunday Morning), brilliantly “chronicles our embrace of anti-intellectualism” (Walter Isaacson) in American politics, from Ronald Reagan to Dan Quayle, from George W.


Staff Pick Badge
The Orphan of Salt Winds By Elizabeth Brooks Cover Image
$15.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781947793224
Published: Tin House Books - January 15th, 2019

For fans of Eowyn Ivey, Rose Tremaine, and Kate Atkinson, The Orphan of Salt Winds is a bewitching debut about the secrets that haunt us.


Staff Pick Badge
The Once and Future Witches By Alix E. Harrow Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316422017
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Redhook - September 28th, 2021

"A gorgeous and thrilling paean to the ferocious power of women. The characters live, bleed, and roar.


Staff Pick Badge
When Women Were Birds: Fifty-four Variations on Voice By Terry Tempest Williams Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250024114
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Picador - February 26th, 2013

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A Kansas City Star Best Book of the Year

"Brilliant, meditative, and full of surprises, wisdom, and wonder."—Ann Lamott, author of Imperfect Birds


Staff Pick Badge
Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss By Margaret Renkl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571313836
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Milkweed Editions - March 30th, 2021

Named a "Best Book of the Year" by New Statesman, New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library, and Washington Independent Review of Books

Southern Book Prize Finalist


Foster By Claire Keegan Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780802160140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Grove Press - November 1st, 2022

An international bestseller and one of The Times' "Top 50 Novels Published in the 21st Century," Claire Keegan's piercing contemporary classic Foster is a heartbreaking story of childhood, loss, and love; now released as a standalone book for the first time ever in the USIt is a hot summer in rural Ireland.


Small Things Like These By Claire Keegan Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780802158741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Grove Press - November 30th, 2021

Shortlisted for the 2022 Booker Prize

"A hypnotic and electrifying Irish tale that transcends country, transcends time." --Lily King, New York Times bestselling author of Writers & Lovers


Staff Pick Badge
The Council of Animals: A Novel By Nick McDonell, Steven Tabbutt (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nick McDonell, Steven Tabbutt (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250839329
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Holt Paperbacks - July 19th, 2022

From national bestselling author Nick McDonell, The Council of Animals is a captivating fable for humans of all ages—dreamers and cynics alike—who believe (if nothing else) in the power of timeless storytelling.


Staff Pick Badge
The Kudzu Queen By Mimi Herman Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781646033102
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Regal House Publishing - January 10th, 2023

“Funny, sad, and tender… Mimi Herman has written a novel that possesses a true and hard won understanding of the South.” —David Sedaris, author of Happy-Go-Lucky


Horse: A Novel By Geraldine Brooks Cover Image
$28.00
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780399562969
Published: Viking - June 14th, 2022

“Brooks’ chronological and cross-disciplinary leaps are thrilling.” —The New York Times Book Review

Horse isn’t just an animal story—it’s a moving narrative about race and art.” —TIME


Now Is Not the Time to Panic: A Novel By Kevin Wilson Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062913517
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Ecco - August 1st, 2023

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Named a Best Book of the Year by: Time * Kirkus Reviews * USA Today * Entertainment Weekly * Garden & Gun * Vox * Atlanta Journal-Constitution


Staff Pick Badge
Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore (10th Anniversary Edition): A Novel By Robin Sloan, Paul Yamazaki (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Robin Sloan, Paul Yamazaki (Foreword by)
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250870292
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Picador - October 4th, 2022

The 10th Anniversary Edition of Robin Sloan’s New York Times bestseller, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, with a new foreword by Paul Yamazaki and featuring the story Ajax Penumbra 1969.

A winner of the Alex Award and a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for First Fiction


Staff Pick Badge
Beach Read By Emily Henry Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Berkley - May 19th, 2020

FROM THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF PEOPLE WE MEET ON VACATION AND BOOK LOVERS!

A romance writer who no longer believes in love and a literary writer stuck in a rut engage in a summer-long challenge that may just upend everything they believe about happily ever afters.


Staff Pick Badge
Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel By Bonnie Garmus Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780385547345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Doubleday - April 5th, 2022

#1 GLOBAL BESTSELLER WITH MORE THAN 6 MILLION COPIES SOLD • Meet Elizabeth Zott: “a gifted research chemist, absurdly self-assured and immune to social convention” (The Washington Post) in 1960s California whose career takes a detour when she becomes the unlikely star of a beloved TV cooking show. STREAM ON APPLE TV+


The Overstory: A Novel By Richard Powers Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393356687
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 2nd, 2019

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction
Winner of the William Dean Howells Medal
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize
Over One Year on the New York Times Bestseller List


Hang the Moon: A Novel By Jeannette Walls Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501117299
Availability: Usually Ships Within a Week
Published: Scribner - March 28th, 2023

“A rollicking tale.” —The Washington Post *“Propulsive.” —Associated Press * “Wild, smart, energetic.” —Los Angeles Times * “Brilliant and effervescent.” —NPR

From the #1 bestselling author of The Glass Castle, the instant New York Times bestseller a “rip-roaring, action


Good Night, Irene: A Novel By Luis Alberto Urrea Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316265850
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. We will contact you when your order is ready. Closed Mon & Tues.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - May 30th, 2023

This New York Times bestselling novel tells an exhilarating World War II epic that chronicles an extraordinary young woman’s heroic frontline service in the Red Cross.

“Urrea’s touch is sure, his exuberance carries you through . . .